Tickets Barcelona- A Foodie’s Fantasy

IMG_4794

I am extremely lucky to have been able to dine at Tickets while in Barcelona recently.  For a foodie like me, its a restaurant that has been on my list for a while now.  Even though we had lunch there and not dinner, the experience was still something that anyone who loves good food should have if ever in Barcelona.

To be quite honest with you, the service felt a little rushed and chaotic at times.  Our reservation was for 1:00pm and when we first arrived, the restaurant wasn’t quite as full as when we left.  We were seated at one of the bars which also happened to be a station where some of the food came out of.  The entire restaurant itself seemed to be made up of different stations, all visible to the guest.  The seating was a little cramped but I didn’t mind it too much and it was nice to be able to watch the cooks create intricate and delicate dishes created by the one and only Ferran Adrià.

IMG_4801The restaurant has a very lively decor about it, almost like you’re at a circus. The door host was even wearing an appropriately themed outfit, top hat included. On the back wall of where we were seated, was a large TV which played videos of what seemed to be a documentary about the famous El Bulli and other “promotional” videos.  Visually, there is a lot going on and it definitely keeps you occupied while waiting for your dishes to arrive.

When we sat, we were immediately greeted by our server and he explained that we could either order a la carte, or that he could create a “tasting menu” for us and send dishes out based on what we liked.  Being that this was our first time, we opted for the tasting menu.  In total, we had 16 dishes.  I know it seems like a lot, but its tapas style so they were mostly small plates.

IMG_4799There wasn’t one dish that I didn’t like, and every dish was unique in flavor compared to the others.  However, a couple of the dishes that really stood out were the beef tartare, dusted with powdered vinegar, the foie gras, the crab salad wrapped in thinly sliced avocado, and the “hot and cold” chocolate dessert (cold chocolate mousse balls covered in a hot chocolate shell).

In the end, we spent around €157 (a little over $200) for two of us, with gratuity included.  Keep in mind though, that we only drank bottled water and I had a coffee.  Was it worth it? Definitely.  Will I go back again? Well, I might go back to try the dinner menu, if I can get a reservation the next time I’m in Barcelona.  But, I’d rather go and check out his other restaurants in the city first.  As I stated earlier, its something that everyone should experience once, and the food won’t disappoint, which makes up for the mediocre service.

Little did I know that my recent trip to Europe would turn out to be much more food driven than I expected.  But hey, I’m not complaining!  I have a handful of restaurants to yet post about and look forward to sharing them with you!  Until then, enjoy the photos from my tasty experience at Tickets.  Adéu!

2 responses to “Tickets Barcelona- A Foodie’s Fantasy

Leave a Reply

