Business Class- SWISS Airlines Lisbon to Barcelona via Zurich

Although I took two different flights from Lisbon to get to Barcelona, I’ve decided to do a single post for both.  Why, you ask?  Well here’s the honest truth:

  • I blame jet lag for not allowing me to sleep the night before leaving Lisbon, which led me to pass out almost immediately after boarding the plane.  Therefore, I really have nothing to report on the first leg of the flight, other than the TAP business lounge, which I thought was great!
  • I thought it would be a little silly to compare two flights on the same carrier so I will go into detail about my flight from Zurich to Barcelona since I was awake, and give small comparisons to what I remember from Lisbon to Zurich.

I decided to take the train from Lisbon to get to the airport.  And I must say, it was very easy!  By the time I arrived, I was in desperate need of something to eat.  Checking in at the SWISS counter was fairly quick, and the woman who helped me was nice enough to point me in the direction of the TAP lounge.

IMG_4718As soon as you enter through the doors, you notice the ambiance while walking down the hallway to the check in counter.  The lounge itself is a decent size, with a mezzanine area for seating along with seating on the first floor.  The offering of food seemed to be much better than the United Lounge in Newark, and the Star Alliance Lounge in Heathrow.  Lighting throughout was very calming and I definitely appreciated it.  I did notice though, that there weren’t any showers available.  Not necessarily a deal breaker for me, but maybe for others.IMG_4717

After sitting and enjoying some sandwiches, orange juice, and coffee, it was time to head to the gate.  And as I stated earlier, I was exhausted!  I remember the flight attendants being friendly, but that’s about it.

Fast forward to Zurich…

My connection in Zurich was fairly quick, but I had enough time to check out the SWISS Senator Lounge.  I must say, its quite a spacious place!  It wasn’t as ambient as the TAP Lounge, but definitely not as bright as the other two I had previously flown through.  Again, the offerings were pretty standard and I wasn’t too hungry at this point.  I enjoyed a cup of coffee and observed the area for a bit before heading to the gate.  The one thing I noticed that this was probably the busiest and fullest lounge that I had encountered so far on this trip.

IMG_4770

The SWISS Senator Lounge in Zurich

Boarding the plane was easy, but I was a little sad to be on my last business class leg of this trip.  As they were on the the Lisbon departure, the flight attendants on this flight were also very friendly.  They asked us which newspapers we preferred, offered something to drink and made sure we were comfortable.

The planes on both legs of this flight were Airbus A321s.  The business class had three seats on each side, but as with TAP, they didn’t seat the middle seats so there was ample space.  For meal service, we didn’t have any options to choose from.  However, I can say that I enjoyed what was served.  (You must forgive me, but I don’t remember exactly what type of fish was served with the thinly sliced beets and potato salad.)

IMG_4738At the end of it all, I have to say as far as service is concerned, SWISS  so far tops my list!  I’ve flown with them in the past in economy, and remember being impressed back then as well.  But alas, all good things must come to an end, and for this part of my trip, there will be business class no more.  Keep an eye out for more posts on Europe, as well a recap comparing my experiences flying business class on United, TAP and SWISS.  I’ll also be writing about my first experience on Lufthansa back to the states and I’m pretty excited!  Until then, here’s a sneak peek into where I’ll be flying to next!  Adéu!

IMG_4780

The Barcelona coast line

4 responses to “Business Class- SWISS Airlines Lisbon to Barcelona via Zurich

Leave a Reply

