La Sagrada Familia- An Architectural Wonder

IMG_0845

If you’ve been to Barcelona before, then most likely La Sagrada Familia was part of the sight-seeing.  If it wasn’t or if you haven’t been to Barcelona, then hopefully my experience will convince you to see it the next time you’re there.

The brainchild of Antoni Gaudi, this building is definitely a work of art in progress.  I say that because it is still currently under construction but mostly finished.  From the outside, it is visually stunning and almost intimidating to a degree.  The sheer size makes you stop in your tracks upon seeing it.  I literally sat outside and stared at it for about 15 minutes in awe before standing in the line to get in.  At first, the line seemed daunting.  But to my surprise, it moved quickly and before I knew it, I was in.

As I got closer to the building, I noticed how intricate the facade was.  I couldn’t help but stare up and look at all of the sculpting that was done.  It was like time stopped just for a second while I soaked in what I was seeing.  I slowly made my way to the entrance and walked in.  As soon as I entered the building, I felt an overwhelming sense of calmness.  It may have had something to do with the fact that it was eerily quiet, yet full of people.  I think that everyone was probably feeling the same way I was. Speechless.

While the outside of the building is in a natural brown color, the inside is almost a complete pallette of whites, grays and light earthy tones, with the exception of the beautiful stained glass and other furnishings.  The pillars were so smooth in juxtaposition with the extremely textured outside.  You could literally see Gaudi’s inspiration.  Nature, the trees, the outdoors. Looking up, the pillars branch out like the canopy of a forest.   The energy in the room was so powerful and at the same time so calming.

I also took the lift up one of the steeples and took a short walk to the top to take a peek out at the city.  It was a great view but trying to pass others coming up and down the maze of stairs was at times challenging.  However, its still worth doing while you’re there.  Before I left, I made my way down to the basement where there was an exhibition of different sketches done by Gaudi, as well as some general information on the church.  And of course, I couldn’t leave without going to the gift shop to pick up some items to send to friends and family.

In the end, the experience was overwhelmingly calming, and spiritual.  Its something that I recommend EVERY traveler to see when in Barcelona. Getting there on the Bus Turistic  was a breeze and was also a great way to see other sights in the city.  Enjoy the photo gallery and look out for future posts on the beautiful city of Barcelona!  Adeu!

Leave a Reply

