The Journey Begins…

Wings over Oahu

I suppose the best place to start this blog is to write about the place that I come from. The beautiful islands of Hawai’i!  While most people view this magical place as one of the top destinations in the world for travel and leisure, I have the honor of calling it my home.  I feel that being from there is fundamental to this blog because it has a huge impact on my perspective of the world and my travels.  So lets start there, shall we?

People ask me all the time what it was like to grow up in Hawai’i.  My answer is always the same.  Growing up there was AWESOME! However, living there as an adult for a person like me?  Well, lets just say I’m not in the right place in my life to move back there any time soon.  Its not to say that I’ll never move back there.  But just when the time is right.

I come from the island of Hawai’i.  No its not the “main island”, which people refer to as Oahu, where the “city” of Honolulu is.  The island’s name is Hawai’i, just like the state.  Its the largest of all islands and is located at the south end of the island chain.  The town I come from is called Kona.  You may have heard of Kona Coffee, and thats exactly what we are known for.

Kona is the largest town on the west side of the island.  Its typically hotter and drier in comparison to the east side of the island. What was once a quaint, sleepy town filled with acres of farmland, has quickly developed over the years.  Nowadays you can find the “necessary” stores like Target, Wal-Mart, and Macys.  However, don’t be fooled.  Just because we have those stores there now, it doesn’t mean that you’ll ever take a quick trip to one of them without running into at least a couple of people you know.  But that’s what a small town is all about right?

While large corporations continue to open up these stores and develop on what was once sacred land, the small town feel of Kona has remained the same, and always will.  That is the beauty of Kona, and of Hawai’i in general.  With that however, comes the good and the bad.  And as a teenager growing up there, I somehow thought that being from a small town was the bad part.  Little did I know that I would eventually end up living in the largest city in America, and that my small town roots would always keep me grounded and level headed no matter where I went.  But back then, all I could think about was getting out of there.

The summer of 1997 couldn’t have come soon enough.  I finally graduated high school and booked a one way ticket to Denver.  I had no idea how much this ticket would change my life and that it was only the first stop of my ongoing journey and adventures. Exploring the world and finding out what was on the other side of the Pacific Ocean was about to begin and I was ready for it! Having said that, I hope that you find my future posts about travel and life to be enlightening, endearing, or at the very least entertaining!  This small town island boy is ready to see the world and share it with everyone!

Leave a Reply

